Micheal Venom Page Targets Kamaru Usman En route UFC Welterweight Gold

UFC welterweight contender Micheal ‘Venom’ Page is looking ahead of his next fight with Ian Machado for a possible clash with number one ranked Kamaru Usman.

Page spoke with Chamatkar Sandhu in an interview about the path he sees to UFC gold which started at UFC 299 with a win over Kevin Holland.

MVP sees the Ian Garry fight on June 29th at UFC 303 as the perfect springboard to the top of the division.

“He’s an Irish guy that’s doing he’s doing really well … he’s [ranked] 7th, which is my lucky number,” Page said. “So that’s that’s another reason why I was like, ‘Yep. I want that.’ And it propels me into the top 5. So it’s exactly where I wanna be. I don’t wanna waste any time.”

From there Page believes he’s one more fight away from earning a title shot on home turf in England.

“If I wanna bring it back to the UK, there will most likely be one more fight,” he said.

“And then they usually do a show in March or something. So if I can get one more fight by the end of the year, that’d be perfect. Perfect way to sign off the year.”

“Finish Ian. Maybe ask for Usman. You know? Get a big fight next. He’s No. 1 ranked. Like I said, there’s no point wasting time. Let’s jump up. Let’s go. Usman, if he’s happy to go, we go. Get that win, and then there’s no debate after that. It’s like no, I deserve the belt.”

The former Welterweight champion Usman ‘The Nigerian Nightmare’ last stepped into the cage in 2023 when he replaced an injured Paulo Costa, to face Khamzat Chimaev in a middleweight bout at UFC 294.

Usman lost the fight via majority decision in what was his middleweight MMA debut.

Usman’s possible fight with Page could still take some time to come to fruition, but the Briton is so sure of his plans on beating his next opponent, Garry?

“I’ve got about ten different ways to hurt this guy, and they’re all horrible,” he said with a smile. “So he can pick.”

For insight into his lethal capabilities inside the octagon, Page referenced how he took care of business in his first UFC fight against the top rated Holland.

“You know, Kevin Holland as a first fight, for anybody, it’s a crazy first fight,” Page said. “People saw what I did there. I know my ability. I’m comfortable with anybody up there. So I’m just looking to just get up there as quickly as possible.”

“You can see [my] popularity has gone up. You see the respect level. Especially after that first fight and how I handled Kevin, who is an amazing athlete, high level. He’s come straight back, broke someone’s arm. He’s a tough competitor.”

‘Get Ready For 25 Minutes Of Pain’
“The way I handled him, they saw the frustration in his eyes and how he struggled to handle me,” he continued. “I think there’s loads of respect. But it’s interesting, I’ve been telling you guys this for a long time, you guys just don’t listen. Before, I was ‘crushing cans,’ and now everyone’s like, ‘Oh, you can actually fight.’”


Leave a comment